Mellow Mushroom Going Casein-Free

January 21st, 2010 by NashVeggie Leave a reply »

UPDATED 2/18/10

Mellow Mushroom has long be heralded by vegans and vegetarians as one of the few places to munch on tempeh subs or get a tempeh or tofu topped pizza. Up to recently those pizzas and subs had to be cheeseless for vegans due to the casein in the soy cheese they used.   Now Mellow Mushroom is beginning to use casein-free vegan cheeses although the only locations in Tennessee are in Knoxville and Murfreesboro.

The following is a list of locations presently using casein-free soy cheese:

  • Murfreesboro, Tennessee
  • Conyers, Georgia
  • Carrollton, Georgia
  • Raleigh, North Carolina
  • Durham, North Carolina
  • Columbia, South Carolina
  • Greenville, South Carolina
  • Knoxville, Tennessee
  • Douglasville, Georgia
  • Hiram, Georgia
  • Northlake, Georgia
  • Lexington, Kentucky
  • Decatur, Georgia
  • Fayetteville, Arkansas
  • Spartanburg, South Carolina
  • Charelston, South Carolina
  • Austin, Texas

If your location does not carry the casein-free alternative they can be persuaded!  Just ask! If you do get vegan cheese at a location not listed above please let me know so I can add it to the list.

Share
Advertisement

3 comments

  1. Kenny T. says:

    Hey NashVeggie,

    Thanks so much for posting this. I contacted the Murfreesboro location to request this and assured them that if they serve it, the word will be spread throughout the veg community in Murfreesboro. They then ordered a sample batch and will be experimenting with it this week and will get back to me soon. It’s that easy! So if you want to, try contacting them about it and take it from there.

    Take care,
    Kenny T.

  2. Kenny T says:

    Good news–the Murfreesboro location now offers vegan cheese on all pizzas and calzones! It was as easy as just exchanging a few emails with them.

  3. Laura says:

    I live in Knoxville and recently went to one of the Mellow Mushroom locations after being told that both Knoxville locations now had vegan cheese. The location that we went to was completely out of soy cheese and didn’t seem to care. When I told them about my experience on Twitter, I was asked if I told them they should stock it. Well gee, I thought that the fact that I ordered it would suggest that I wanted them to have it. (I wound up ordering a tempeh sandwich made vegan and it was tasty.)

Leave a Reply