8th Continent

May 31st, 2007 by NashVeggie Leave a reply »

8th Continent Soy Milk

I have just discovered that the once unvegan soymilk 8th Continent is now vegan. The makers of 8th Continent have removed the added Vitamin D3 and replaced it with plant-based Vitamin D2 making this now an option for the vegans. I know most people prefer Silk, I prefer Organic Valley myself, but I have heard from some who liked 8th Continent but would not purchase it any longer after finding out it was not vegan. So go get your vegan 8th Continent if that’s what moves you.

Also, has anyone ever seen 8th Continent anywhere other than Wal-Mart?

Share
Advertisement

6 comments

  1. Sam says:

    Their website still says that it isn’t. I’m not sure we can assume that because of the switch it automatically is. Other websites from ’06 say that it is vegan too, but someone on quoted an e-mail from 8th Cont. saying they could not guarantee the vegan-ness. Do you have an official source on this?

  2. NashVeggie says:

    I am not sure where on the webisite you have found which states it is not vegan, as it is stated here that it contains no animal ingredients:

    http://www.8thcontinent.com/HealthBenefits/OtherBenefits.aspx
    “Vegan:
    Veganism is a philosophy and lifestyle that avoids using animals and animal products for food, clothing and other purposes. There are no animal components in the ingredients of 8th Continent soymilk.”

    As well, as found in the ingredient list here:

    http://www.8thcontinent.com/Products/ProductIndividual.aspx?CategoryID=1&ProductID=1

    it no longer contains Vitamin D3
    “Ingredients:

    Soymilk (Water, Soy Protein, Soybean Oil, Calcium Phosphate), Sugar, Potassium Citrate, Dipotassium Phosphate, Soy Lecithin, Carrageenan, Salt, Xanthan Gum, Natural And Artificial Flavor, Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Vitamin A(Palmitate), Vitamin D2, Vitamin B12 ”

    That’s official enough for me.

  3. Sam says:

    http://consumercontacts.generalmills.com/ConsolidatedContact.aspx?page=http://www.8thContinent.com

    states that it isn’t. Weird, though, with your link. Someone needs to call them.

  4. NashVeggie says:

    Where are you seeing it stated as not being vegan? The link you posted is just for contacting.

    Once 8th Continent was not vegan, as it contained vitamin D3. However, no longer is D3 added. Perhaps that is where you are confused.

  5. Sam says:

    Sorry, click on “see FAQs” at the link I provided. It says, on that page:

    Q: Is 8th Continent soymilk a vegan product?

    A: The Vitamin D added to 8th Continent soymilk is from animal origin. It is Vitamin D3 (Cholecalciferol) from wool fat (lanolin). Thus, it is not a vegan product.

    I know the ingredients say D2 now, but it’s still disconcerting. Maybe General Mills forgot to update their page seperate from 8th Cont’s site.

  6. NashVeggie says:

    Should be of no concern as Vitamin D3 is NOT LISTED as an ingredient any longer on the label OR on 8th Continent’s site. As I stated previously, 8th Continent once contained Vitamin D3, but it has been removed from the ingredients recently, so it is now a VEGAN product.

    You should contact the General Mills site admins if you feel their site is in error, as it most evidently is.

    Let me add, as well, that I don’t even drink 8th Continent. I prefer Organic Valley soymilk. Not that my preference has anything to do with this I just wanted to be clear that I have no agenda in pushing a preferred product.

Leave a Reply to NashVeggie